top of page

TALENT TALK: BRANDING PART 1


I'm starting this series called TALENT TALK where I'm able to provide you with clarity regarding hot topics I'm seeing a lot of actors get confused with & this is the first post of the series!

WHAT IS BRANDING?

Branding is a term used, primarily by actors, to describe a message that they are relating to industry professionals. In essence, it's marketing.

WHY IS BRANDING IMPORTANT?

The brand you release acts as a subconscious / subliminal influence/message on your audience in order to persuade them to purchase a product; or in this case, to hire you - the actor.

WHAT'S THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN BRANDING AND TYPE?

* BRANDING = Message.

* TYPE = Social (Cast) Stereotype.

When branding yourself, you need to take your "type" into consideration as it works hand in hand with your branding. Branding without a type could cause your brand can be too broad. Confusing branding for type, then you could box yourself in.

WHAT IS MY TYPE?

The easiest place to start is with yourself. Look at your headshots, look at social photos and ask yourself if you saw that person out on the street, how would you classify them?

  • Do they look like the hot dad?

  • The soccer mom?

  • The dweeby geek?

  • The girl next door?

  • The Lipstick lesbian?

  • The closeted jock?

These are all different types that you could perceive yourself. More importantly you need to find out how the world perceives your type - so ask your friends, family, colleagues & strangers if you're brave. The less they know you the better, because you'll have less biased opinions as it'll be a similar situation when CD's don't know who you are.

CHECKLIST:

  • Do I understand the difference between branding and type?

  • Do I understand what my type/s is/are?

  • Have I surveyed my network to see if the types I see myself as are the same as those around me?



Here is an example of 2 of my types:

- Headshot 1 can be medical, law or corporate.

- Headshot 2 can be criminal, gangster, thug, general bad guy.

8 views0 comments

Opmerkingen


bottom of page