top of page

TALENT TALK: OPEN COMMUNICATION WITH YOUR REPS


Working with your reps is another relationship in your life that you need to cultivate.

When you first start working with your reps, be it agent and or manager, it's essentially a business deal. They take you on their books with the hopes you'll make them money while they provide you with work opportunities.

After a while, pending on how you cultivate your relationship, it can start to get personal. How personal can vary.

However at the end of the day, it's still a relationship.

Every relationship needs open communication. This is the key. If this is something you don't have with your reps, then this is something that you, the talent need to initiate.

"But why us?"

Because your reps have numerous other talent on their books and they are busting their assess looking for work for all of you & maintaining THIER relationships with CD's while ONLY getting paid 10% (if and when you book the job). If you the talent aren't making the effort, then the talent will be the one at a loss.

"But it's still not fair!"

I know it's not. Look at it this way. Why is it that your reps have to go out of their way to cultivate a relationship with someone who's replaceable? There are dozens of talent that are wanting your spot on the books. The way you manage and grow this relationship with your reps is what will keep you on the books. And it all starts with open communication.

Open communication means that all parties are available to discuss openly all topics in a civilised manner. If something isn't working for you, organise a meeting with your agent. If there's a miscommunication with dates, figure out why. If there are differing opinions between agent, manager AND client - allow everyone to make their point without interruption.

"What if my rep doesn't agree with my opinion?"

Then back your opinion up. Provide proof and examples of what you need to make your point. Provide letters and references from industry professionals or teachers if you have to. Even video proof if it comes to that.

Open communication is important because it allows all parties to be heard without being judged. The important thing about open communication is that you have to be careful about the words you use and whatever you say should be able to be backed up. If you can't back it up, then you probably shouldn't say it. If you can back it up - then TAKE IT TO ​​TOWN GURL!

CHECKLIST:


  • Have I initiated open communication with my reps?

  • Have I been staying in regular contact with my reps, updating with with material and auditions?

  • Have I given them sufficient notice to book me out on dates I'm away?

  • Are my reps and I on the same page about my abilities?

  • Is my manager & I on the same page about my career trajectory?

  • Is my agent & I on the same page about the tiers of roles I should be submitted for?

  • Am I willing to hear my reps opinions and NOT get defensive?

  • Am I willing to be open to discussion about topics that I may not be comfortable about?

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page