top of page

TALENT TALK: SUBMISSION REPORTS


Over the years, I’ve had many performers come to me asking how they should leave their agent. The first thing I ask them is, “Have you asked for your submission report?” They always answer with “What’s a submission report?”.

What is a submission report?

A submission report is a document outlining the projects you have been submitted for. Usually you’ll be able to see the project, the type of project, the casting director and the role you were submitted for.

Why should I ask for the submission report?


A submission report is a handy tool for an actor to have as you’ll be able to gauge patterns in how your agent is submitting you, who their submitting you to, what sort of projects you’re being submitted for and who’s calling you in.

My agent doesn’t want to send me my submission report.

I would ask why? You as the actor have every right to ask for you submission report because it is a business tool that you can use to your advantage. If your rep gets defensive about the submission report, I would question what it is that they don’t want you to see as a result of not sending it to you.

Could they have not submitted you for projects you’ve asked about in the past? Could they have submitted you to projects that you’re not suitable for?

Could they be wondering if you’re wanting to see your report so you can jump ship? Whatever the reason is, that’s a red flag.

How can I use a submission report to my advantage?

TYPE - Have a look at the roles you are being pitched for and find consistent patterns. These are the types that your rep see you as. Do you agree or disagree with these? If you agree, then do you have material to support these? If not, then have a conversation as to why you’re being pitched this way.

CASTING DIRECTOR - often you are able to see which CD’s you are being pitched for and it states to what capacity you’ve gotten to with that project. Find patterns with certain CD’s - have you been constant in attending an “audition” with 1 CD but only “submission” with another, or had various “callbacks” with one but haven’t been “booked” on another?

PATTERNS - Finding patterns in your submission report can help you tailor your material to HELP your reps pitch you more strongly to CD’s to give you a better chance of being called in to the room.

CHECKLIST:

  • What is a submission report?

  • Why should I ask for it?

  • Why doesn’t my rep want to give it to me?

  • How do I use it to my advantage?

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page