top of page

How To Make Your Agent Confident In Submitting You For Work


NATASHA

Are you always confident you're submitting the right people for the right jobs?

SEAN

Yes.

Submitting my clients for work is like offering pieces of a puzzle for casting directors to use to put their puzzle together. Speaking to a number of CD's, a lot of them have used this puzzle analogy, because they are part of a team that's working on putting this puzzle (the project) together - whether it be stage or screen. My job is to offer potential pieces to said puzzle.

What makes me confident when I submit my clients is knowing them as people and as products. As people, I need to know my clients are professional and personable. I need to ensure that they can handle themselves on set, back stage, on stage and are always kind, courteous and professional performers. As performers, I need to know that they are technically strong in their field, that they are extremely talented and have the skills capable of pulling off what's required of them. Of course, I also need to make sure they physically suit the role - look, height, hair, size, etc. Importantly I need to know they are constantly training, keeping their skills warm so when an audition is offered, I know they are at their strongest!

The times where I'm not confident in submitting someone is when they don't fit the brief (skill set or physically), when I don't know where their current abilities lie, where I've heard stories about them being rude or spreading rumours or not being professional in class, at a job or in society in general.

An easy way to know if your agent is confident in submitting you for work would be if your materials are up to date, if you've kept in contact with them on a regular basis, if you're currently training AND if you knew how they would be fighting for you should they be on the phone with a CD. If you don't know how your agent is going to fight for you, then you need to communicate with them. Call them up, send them an email - HOWEVER make sure that you've done everything on your part first before you go in guns blazing. This means having your headshots up to date, the best material in your showreel, your CV looking slick, your casting profiles up to date, your skills up to date and be honest and being real with your agent & people in the industry.

CHECKLIST:

  • Does my agent know my current abilities?

  • Does my agent know my attitude & work ethic?

  • Does my agent know how much I want this?

  • Does my agent have my latest materials?

  • Does my agent know I'm training?


NATASHA CRANE is the director of Crane Creations and is an amazing Choreographer, Dancer & Life Coach who is always helping young performers follow their dreams all the while building their confidence with actionable steps. She is one of a few who are educating the next generation of performers to truly value themselves as people, as performers & to create a nurturing culture of bringing each other up with quality training. Please connect with NATASHA at the following link:

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page